Legal Requirements for Car Insurance in California
Purchasing auto insurance is one of the most dreaded times in any driver’s life. However, while looking up quotes and calling companies for policy specifics may feel like running around in a circus ring, it is also necessary and legally mandatory in the state of California. In fact, failing to have at least liability coverage on your vehicle can lead to unwanted legal consequences, including fines and loss of license among other things. Some states require more coverage than just liability. Some of the additional coverage needed could include:
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Unfortunately for law-abiding citizens with automobile insurance, there is no guarantee that they will not get in an accident with a less conscientious driver. UM/UIM coverage protects the driver who gets in an accident with an uninsured driver, or is the victim of a hit-and-run with no chance of compensation. In the state of California insurance companies are required to include this coverage with every policy purchased; however, you may sign a waiver specifically stating that you do not want UM/UIM.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in California
The concept behind no-fault coverage is that the insured party should be able to pay for itself regardless of who caused the accident, or how. In other words, no-fault coverage would take care of medical and repair costs for the driver, whether victim or at fault, without either party needing to end up in court; the driver at fault would merely have higher premiums as a high-risk driver. California, like most states in the US, does not require this type of insurance, instead requiring the person at fault to pay.
Hands-Free Laws in California
In recent years, there have been a rising number of TV and radio commercials urging drivers to put down the cell phone while driving. This is because of an equal rise in the number of accidents and even deaths caused by distracted driving. It is vitally important to drive with your hands (and minds) free of distractions. Therefore, California laws are somewhat stricter than some other states when it comes to distracted driving, enforcing the following bans on cell phone use while on the road:
Highway Safety Laws
|Cell Phone Ban (Handheld)||All school bus drivers; novice drivers w/ Intermediate License, or within 1st 12 months of driving|
|Text Messaging Ban||All school bus drivers; novice drivers w/ Intermediate License, or within 1st 12 months of driving|
Since purchasing auto insurance in California is necessary for anyone who wishes to drive or register a vehicle, there is no reason why the process should be any harder than it has to be. With caautoinsurancequotes.net, you can use the insurance quote generator on this page to find the most affordable coverage for you without running around the circus ring of car insurance companies. It should only take a few minutes to find the policy that’s perfect for you!
Find a quote the easier way!
Do you live in one of California’s major cities? Find more tips for saving money here:About California From Wikipedia
State of California Government Website
California State Guide